Element Element


AUB Signs Al Ghurair STEM Scholars Program Agreement

  • Date: April-11-2017

The American University of Beirut signed in March 2017 a project-specific agreement with the Abdulla Al Ghurair Foundation for Education (AGFE) for the implementation of the Al Ghurair Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Scholars Program at AUB.

An estimated 178 students in total entering over three academic years will receive full scholarships—tuition and living expenses—from AGFE, with AUB contributing 20% of the cost of tuition and fees.

AGFE is devoted to equipping Arab youth with the knowledge and skills they need to fulfill their promise as future leaders in the region. The STEM Scholars Program offered by AGFE is one of the largest privately funded philanthropic initiatives in education supporting Arab students in pursuit of their bachelor’s or master’s degree in a STEM-related field at top universities in the region and abroad.  The Program targets high-achieving students in need of financial support to continue their studies.

The distribution of scholarships across undergraduate and graduate students, as well as across degree programs, will be determined on a yearly basis, depending on the applications received.  In principle, the Program aims to have at least 80% of each cohort composed of undergraduate students and at least 15% of each cohort of non-Lebanese scholars.  The Program also aims to balance between different degree programs.

In addition to financial support, the Program will ensure that scholars receive quality academic advising and career counseling, as well as opportunities to access community service and internships in their career fields.

“It is important to note that this mutual agreement with AGFE will help in making education at AUB affordable and accessible to the bright but needy students, and will further enhance the socio-economic and geographic diversity of the student population at AUB—two of the most important strategic goals of this institution,” said AUB Provost, Dr. Mohamad Harajli.​

Back to Events